Recital – Love and Passion

Introduction :

The works on this program are a vivid testimony to the feelings of love that touched these composers during their lives.
« Adagio and Allegro » is the musical continuation of the passionate and poetic letters that Robert Schumann wrote to Clara. The platonic love that Antonin Dvorak cultivated for Josefina, is an indisputable and inexhaustible source for tenderness in his music.
The sonata in A minor that César Franck, then aged 63, gave as a wedding present to the young, world-famous Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe seems more like a wink. Love and passion are expressed in this work the way they were seen by a mature man, symbolically describing for his young friend the different stages in a couple’s life…

In the « Suite italienne », Stravinsky depicts in a little more theatrical way the story of Pulcinella (character form ‘la commedia dell’arte’) :

‘Pulcinella is pursued by the love of young ladies, provoking the jealousy of their fiancés. They decide to kill him. Pulcinella, who has caught wind of the plot, teams up with Furbo to stage a mockery of his own murder, followed by his resurrection in front of the assembled crowd. He takes revenge on those who had beaten him and then blesses their marriages at the same time as his own…’

Program :

1- Igor Stravinsky – « Suite Italienne »

– Introduzione (allegro moderato) – Serenata (Larghetto) – Aria- Tarantella (Vivace) – Minueto e Finale

2- Robert Schumann – Adagio and Allegro, op. 70

3- Antonin Dvorak – « Waldesruhe » op.68 No.5

4- Cesar Franck – Sonate en La mineur, FWV 8.

– allegro ben moderato – allegro molto – Recitativo fantasia – allegretto poco mosso

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2024 Olsi LEKA

Theme by Anders Norén